Period III (2) – i. Jurisdiction (Documents showing that the Senkaku Islands had been incorporated into an administrative district in Japan)

Document that confirms the affiliation of the Senkaku Islands with Yaeyama Village, and the name of a small administrative unit (Ko-Aza)

## No.23 Kenrei (Okinawa Prefectural Ordinance) No.49 (Appendix)

December 3, 1902 (Prefectural ordinance) November 10, 1911 (Publication)

## Overview

As a result of the Okinawa Prefecture Temporary Land Consolidation Project, a Prefectural Ordinance was issued concerning the reorganization of the administrative districts of the islands of Miyako and Yaeyama in 1902. According to this Prefectural Ordinance, No.49, Uotsuri Island, Kuba Island, Kitakojima Island, and Minamikojima Island were incorporated into the administrative units of Tonoshiro Village, Ohama-magiri, Yaeyama County and each island was designated as a small administrative unit of Aza, respectively. The names of the Azas which were subject to Prefectural Ordinance No.49 were attached as an appendix.

The Okinawa-ken Reitatsu Ruisan (Collection of Okinawa Prefectural Ordinances and Notices), Vol.1, contains Prefectural Ordinance No.49, including the abovementioned appendix that shows the name of the district (*Aza*).

The appendix contains an annotation stating, "This appendix was revised with the establishment of four villages in accordance with Prefectural Ordinance No.22 of March 28, 1908." This presumably refers to the enforcement of the "Edict concerning Okinawa Prefecture and Tosho Choson-sei (system of organizing the administration of islands by towns and villages)" in 1907, resulting in the abolishment of Miyara-magiri, Ohama-magiri, and Ishigaki-magiri in Yaeyama County, and the new establishment of villages including Yaeyama Village in the following year, 1908. The four islands of Minamikojima, Kitakojima, Uotsuri, and Kuba were placed under Yaeyama Village at this point (refer to p.47).

## Excerpt [English translation]

## Category 2: System

Chapter 6: Gun, Ku, Cho, Son (County, Ward, Town, Village) Prefectural Ordinance No. 49 (December 3, 1902) (text omitted) Uotsuri Island and Kuba Island of Yaeyama County and the adjacent islands shall be incorporated into Tonoshiro Village of Ohama Magiri.

The areas of the villages and names of Azas of each Magiri of Miyako County and Yaeyama County are stipulated as shown in the appendix.

shown in the appendix. (Appendix) (text omitted) Yaeyama County Yaeyama Village (text omitted) OName: Tonoshiro (text omitted) Name: MinamiKojima Island, Name: KitaKojima Island, Name: Uotsuri Island, Name: Kuba Island (text omitted)

			_					-		沖	
	チ	關	木	=	補	-	繩	本			
凡	逐	聯	書	供	再	月	縣	書		繩	
m	~	t	~	X	版	Э	令	~	凡	縣	
94	ス	n	之	n	セ	ŋ	達	明		令	
		45	チ	=	2	同	類	治	例		
		1	+	在	Ŧ	四	纂	+		達	
		チ	四	ŋ	1	+	=	-		類	
		列	類			170	加	年		纂	
		輯			2	年	除	Ξ		345	
		セ	大		テ	ØU	訂	ŋ			
		¥	別		編	月	Æ	同			
		Ŧ	*		纂		チ	E			
		以	類		1	至	加	+			
		テ	中		目	n	~	八			
		類	=		的	現	更	年			
		中	章		~	行	=	+			
		1	チ		執	令	明				
		編	設		務	達	治	月			
-		次	5		上	7	Ξ	11			
		~	相		1	蒐	+	至			
		年	類		資	集	九	N			
		號	似		料	增	年	沖			

Repository: The Faculty of Law Library, Kyoto University

Date Created	December 3, 1902 (Prefectural Ordinance) November 10, 1911 (Publication)					
Author(s) & Editor(s)	Okinawa Prefecture					
Publisher	Okinawa Prefecture					
Name of Publication	Okinawa-ken Reitatsu Ruisan (Collection of Okinawa Prefectural Ordinances and Notices), Vol. 1					
Language	Japanese					
Medium	Paper					
Public Access	Available to the public					
Repository	Faculty of Law Library, Kyoto University					
Reference& Information	Follow the instruction at the Faculty of Law Library, Kyoto University					

以テ四ヶ村設置ニ付改、八日縣令第二十二號チー (別冊 宮古、八重山兩郡谷間切内ノ村ノ區域竝字名ハ別冊ノ通リ定ム 里添村トシ平良間切東仲宗根添村ヲ分割シテ東仲宗根添村トシ同間切池間村字池間添村ヲ分割シ 宮古郡砂川間切西里村字西里添村ヲ分割シテ西里添村トシ同間切下里村字下里添村ヲ分割シテ ●縣令第四十九號 (明治三十五年) 平良 島嶼ハ大濱間切登野城村ノ區域ニ編入ス 池間添村トシ同間切前里村字前里添村ヲ分割シテ前里添村トス八重山郡魚釣島八場島其他附近 區域ニ編入スへキ旨内務大臣ヨリ訓令相成候條其旨相心得へシ 字大 字松 字西 字下 字中垣 字馬場 字東ノハカ プドウ ヲフク 字ウェニャ 底 タ ザ 村 原 原 第二類 第二類 字ミナ 川 里 字南八底 里 字トウ 字字志原 字嶺原 字南方 字シ 字ウェ 制度 制度 12 字中ノハカ バリ 字ナカ ズ 字山仲 ソコ 17 字ョナヲフク 第六章 第六章 字東大原 字大嶺 y 字ブンニ 字番名 字マ ムイ 字大後 字シカチ 字アガリトウズゾコ 字カナイタ 郡區町村 ス 字西之ハカ ハリ 字アマ 字腰原 字ビサガツハナ 字カアラ 字ミノバリ Ŀ 字サフ サ 字鏡原 字南腰原 字大川山 字東真地 字南原 13 字上地盛 字棚原 字ミアクテ 字七原 字神屋 字西真地 字ユミバリ 字アラ 字鏡原山 字アカウフ 字大三俵 字長原 字オブ 字本名 シ 字イリメ ガフ 字大原 字カヅアミチ タ 字ビガア -+ へつ 字長間 字地盛 字ウッ ゴ 字ョ シ 字嵩原 字ビャフ 7 字與久 字マッ シ 字オ + 字 底 下

○字登野城

字阿武名 字村内

字小波本 字田原

字天川

字糸數

字山原

字仲道

字大桝 字ナケイ

字

チ

ヤ 根

7

ヤ 13

2

ナ

字ス

リナ

字バラビ道

字嵩田 字南上原

字南小島

字北小島 字北上原 字仲須目

字魚釣島

字久場島

字山 7

字 チ

字ナア山 字赤生

52

Commissioned Research Report on the Senkaku Islands-related Documents (FY2019)

;-----

Repository: The Faculty of Law Library, Kyoto University